New Channel, Same Old Stuff

When I first saw the e-mail in my inbox with the subject heading that read “Important information for MobileMe members,”  I thought that perhaps Apple was once again changing the name of their web hosting service. So I opened the message and started reading without any trepidation.

Things started out okay. The message said:

We’d like to share some exciting news with you about iCloud — Apple’s upcoming cloud service, which stores your content and wirelessly pushes it to your devices.

I’m not the hippest person around, but I know enough to know that “The Cloud” is the latest and greatest in the world of computing devices and smart phones. No alarm bells here.

But that all started to change when the message asked this question:  What does this mean for you as a MobileMe member? I knew the answer was coming, and I read on with bated breath.

When you sign up for iCloud, you’ll be able to keep your MobileMe email address and move your mail, contacts, calendars, and bookmarks to the new service.

So far, so good.

Your MobileMe subscription will be automatically extended through June 30, 2012, at no additional charge.

A free extension of MobileMe, through June of next year, at no additional charge? Uh-oh. I was starting to get that sinking feeling. This cannot be good. Dare I read on?

After that date, MobileMe will no longer be available.

Really? Really?!?!?!?!?! Just like that? No more MobileMe? What will become of my blog? My Web Gallery? My iDisk?

The MobileMe web site answered my questions, and I didn’t like what I heard.

Following is a list of MobileMe services and whether they will be available or not in iCloud this fall:

MobileMe Service Available in iCloud
Mail Available
Contacts Available
Calendar Available
Bookmarks Available
Find My iPhone Available
Back to My Mac Available
iWeb publishing Unavailable
Gallery Unavailable
iDisk unavailable

Yikes! What will happen to my blog and my web gallery and my iDisk once MobileMe is kaput? I asked myself.

And like magic, the answer to my question materialized before my very eyes.

  • You will be able to continue publishing iWeb sites to MobileMe through June 30, 2012…. With iWeb you can easily move a site published to MobileMe to another web hosting service and you should do so before that date. 
  • You will be able to continue using MobileMe Gallery through June 30, 2012…. You should save copies of all photos published to your Gallery before that date. 
  • You will be able to continue using MobileMe iDisk through June 30, 2012…. You should save copies of all files stored on iDisk before that date. 

At first my heart sank. But then I realized that it wasn’t the end of the world. I’ve had a Flickr account and photo gallery for years and it will do just fine, although I might need to upgrade my free account to a paid account. As for my iDisk, well, I supposed I could subscribe to one of the on-line remote-storing services, although I might be able to back up all my really important stuff remotely to iCloud. I’ll just wait and see.

But as far as my blog goes, I didn’t want to wait. Why keep posting to my MobileMe blog when it’s scheduled to become obsolete in less than a year? There are lots of (free) blogging sites available, so I decided to get started right away. I had originally planned to try out different blogging sites, but the boy’s GF recommended WordPress. I gave it a try, and I knew right away it was the blog site for me.

I don’t know what will become of all the entries I posted to All Kinds Of Knitting on MobileMe. They cannot be imported into WordPress. I might be able to upload them to my ISP’s server, or add them manually to WordPress as Pages. Or I might just let them die a slow death. When I decided, yinz will be the first to know. 🙂

☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮

Leave a Reply

