A New Toy And A New Sock

When I started knitting in earnest, I began recording my knitting both in writing and in pictures. I used to keep a pen-and-paper knitting journal, but that went out the window with the advent of Raverly. I now record all my knitting projects on Ravelry. And when each project is completed, I make a PDF of the Ravelry project page and save it to my computer. Ta-da! Instant journal. (Don’t worry. I have back-ups. If my hard drive bites the dust, I won’t lose my knitting records.)

A pictorial record of my knitting serves several purposes. In addition to reminding me of all the projects I have completed, pictures also provide a way to share my knitting with family, friends, and fellow travelers. The problem with pictures is that, um–there’s no delicate way to put this. I’m a lousy photographer. Fortunately point-and-shoot digital cameras and photo-editing software go a long way toward compensating for the photography skills I so grossly lack.

The DH and I got our first digital camera 8 or 9 years ago. It’s a 5-mega pixel Kodak Easyshare, and it’s a great camera. I’ve been able to document my knitting with this camera quickly and easily. And between the camera compensating for the fact that I cannot hold a camera still while snapping the shutter button and iPhoto’s editing functions allowing me to improve the composition of pictures by cropping, straightening, and retouching, I have been able to get some pretty decent shots. But, sadly, the Easyshare is starting to show its age. The flash works sometimes, but sometimes it doesn’t. I need a flash that I can depend on, so I decided the time was right to buy a new digital camera.

Through the magic of Google and the Internet, I compared cameras, read countless reviews, and finally decided on a Sony Cybershot.

The model I chose is now discontinued, so I was able to get it at a very good price. This 10-mega pixel camera has a boat-load of features. I have no idea what many of them actually do, even after reading the user manual. But the camera has two automatic settings that seem to work well for me, and it’s really simple to use. It will take a little time and practice to get comfortable with the new camera, and I will miss using the old Easyshare, but I’ll cope.

I took this picture of the Sony Cybershot with the Kodak Easyshare.

 

 

 

 

 

 

But I took this picture of my new sock in progress with the Sony Cybershot.

The yarn is Scarlet Fleece Grassy Wool, which is 65% Superwash Merino and 35% Bamboo in a colorway appropriately called Pink Chocolate. It’s a lovely combination of brownish pinks and pinkish browns. The yarn itself is beautifully dyed  and has a light twist and a very nice hand. It is soft to touch, has a slight halo, and is a dream to knit. The pattern is Shadow Rib, which is one of my favorite go-to patterns for knitting socks. It works well with solids as well as hand-painted yarns, and it looks especially nice when knitted with hand-painted yarns that have short color repeats.

As you can tell from the picture, I am knitting this sock from the toe up on two circular needles. I normally knit socks on double-pointed needles, but with dpns I was getting a “ladder” between the last needle and the first. Normally I don’t get ladders, but for some reason this yarn just wasn’t co-operating. So I switched to two circular needles and no more ladder.  I love this yarn so much, I just might keep these socks for myself. 🙂

☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮☮

Leave a Reply

