I’m A Slacker

Yes, I admit it. I’m a total slacker. I have not been knitting nearly as much as I should be. I started these Pink Chocolate Shadow Rib Socks a month ago,

and I’m only a little over halfway done. Normally I’d knit a pair of socks in a week to ten days. Oh, I’m such a slacker!

Part of the blame goes to David Baldacci for writing such engrossing books as The Whole Truth, and part of the blame falls squarely on Major League Baseball. I do a lot of my knitting while watching television, especially sports and movies. During football and hockey seasons, I knit a lot. On college football Saturdays, I watch games from noon to midnight and knit nearly the entire time. I knit during NFL games, too. Hockey requires the knitting to be mindless because if you look away for even a second you might miss something really exciting. Yeah, you might get to see it again on replay, but still. Socks and hats make great hockey knitting, hence my prolific sock and hat knitting during the Stanley Cup Playoffs.

But the time between the end of hockey season and the beginning of football season is a sports dead zone for me. It’s not that I don’t like baseball. I actually love baseball, at least real baseball. You know, the kind of baseball in which all the players, including the pitcher, come up to bat. I enjoy going to baseball games, major league or minor. But I just don’t like to watch it on television anymore. I hate the Designated Hitter Rule; it sucks the soul out of baseball. But I’ve never been a fan of the junior circuit; the teams I like are all National League teams. As much as I detest the DH, it isn’t the reason I don’t watch baseball anymore. I really cannot explain why I lost interest in baseball, but it happened after the 1981 strike season.

However, my DH (Darling Husband, not Designated Hitter) is crazy for baseball. He has a fantasy team that he follows minute by minute, and he loves watching baseball on television. And since he generously allows me to totally dominate the television viewing choices during football and hockey seasons, I cede control of the remote to him during baseball season once the Stanley Cup has been decided. So that means he gets to watch his baseball games on the big screen HDTV, and I find other things to do. If it weren’t for baseball, I’d probably watch a lot of old movies on TCM and knit, knit, knit. But instead, I read or play around on my computer. I get less knitting done, but it’s a more than fair trade-off, don’t you think?

One thought on “I’m A Slacker

  1. Yes, I think it’s quite a fair trade-off, especially since I also want to watch the Pens games, Steelers games, WVU football games, and most of the other college football games you want to watch! Oh, and don’t forget my WVU basketball games in the winter.

    And we still both enjoy sharing the occasional old movie on TCM, too. Life is good.

    Love,

    DH (Darling Husband, definitely not Designated Hitter — hate is not a strong enough word for that abominable pox on an otherwise pure and perfect game)
    Let’s Go Bucs!

Leave a Reply

