Hockey Sticks And Knitting Needles

The first round of the Stanley Cup playoffs is in full swing. While things are not going well for my beloved Pittsburgh Penguins, who are currently down 0-3 games to the hated F%^ers due to horrendous defensive play and so-so goaltending, the other series are serving up a lot of exciting games. While the hockey sticks are flying, so are my knitting needles. I currently have two playoff projects OTN–Blue Teardrops, a beaded lace scarf about which I wrote earlier, and Garter Rib Socks.

Although Blue Teardrops requires a bit of attention when placing the beads, it’s still pretty simple knitting that is well adapted to hockey knitting. Garter Rib Socks, on the other hand, are totally mindless knitting and work well when I’m watching a game that totally engrosses me. The yarn is Knit Picks Stroll Tonal in Kindling, which is a heavy fingering weight. The socks are intended for the DH, so I cast on 80 stitches using 2.5mm Chiao Goo stainless steel 6-inch double-pointed needles, which are absolutely fabulous needles. After completing 20 rounds of 2 x 2 ribbing, I began the garter rib pattern–alternating rounds of k2, p2, and plain knit. The result is a ribbed sock cuff that is less plain and more interesting to knit than simple 2 x 2 ribbing, but that is plain enough to please a male. When the leg attained a length of 8 inches, I worked a 3-inch-long heel flap in EOP (eye of partridge) stitch on 50% of the stitches. The heel has been turned, and now I’m ready to pick up gusset stitches.

Garter Rib Socks

I hope to have sock # 1 completed before the end of the week. I could get it done sooner than that if I wasn’t alternating with Blue Teardrops. Sorry, I just find it very difficult to maintain knitting project monogamy.

One thought on “Hockey Sticks And Knitting Needles

  1. Pingback: A Finished Object « All Kinds Of Knitting

Leave a Reply

