The Spider Queen Progresses

I’ve been spending so much time lately knitting, learning to spin, and reading, that I have neglected to keep you, my dear reader, up to date. Well, that changes today.

I haven’t written much about my Spider Queen Shawl lately, but that doesn’t mean I’ve been neglecting her. To the contrary, I’ve been making steady progress on her. I decided to just plunge ahead and cross my fingers trust that my not-very-stretchy  yarn-over corner edges would be fine once they are joined to the other borders. I am not doing this entirely on blind faith and wishful thinking. I borrowed this technique from EZ’s Stonington Shawl and it seems to have worked just fine in my still-unfinished version of said shawl which resides somewhere in my knitting pile. (Let’s not go there.)

The first two borders of The Spider Queen are completed, and border #3 is under way.

The Spider Queen, unstretched, with borders 1 and 2 completed and border 3 started

The Spider Queen, unstretched, with borders 1 and 2 completed and border 3 started

Border #3 is on the right. You can see the line of holes that is the Dewdrops band. Doesn’t the unstretched lace look a total mess? When the knitting is completed, the shawl will look like something the cat threw up. But when I wash and block it, magic will happen. Just wait and see.

Before I started working on the third border, I had to decide how to join border #3 to the other two borders. After giving it considerable thought, I decided that when I get to the end of the row, I would knit the last stitch of the row, knit up a stitch in the loop of the other border without twisting it, then slip the last stitch of the row over the knit-up stitch. I’ve only done a few joins, but I’m pleased with the results so far.

The join between the borders

 

The join close up

Once the yarn over has been joined, the corner edge is stretchier, so I’m hopeful this technique will work because I really don’t want to have to rip out and reknit three borders. But, mind you, I will if I have to.

I’m very much enjoying working the borders individually. The knitting seems to go faster than when knitting the borders all at the same time in the round. I know that this is an illusion because the number of stitches being knitted is the same regardless of the technique used. But, still, when you come to the end of the row after having knitted, say, 5 repeats of the pattern instead of 20 repeats, when a row is only 210 stitches, not 840 stitches, the knitting seems to go faster. And since the knitted-on edging is added as you go, the shawl seems to go even quicker. Normally, once all the borders are finished, there’s still the edging to do, and the edging always takes longer than you think it will.

I’m enjoying making this shawl so much that I haven’t even been thinking about my next shawl. And that has never happened. On lace shawl leads to another, and another, but right now, I’m just enjoying the knitting pleasure that is The Spider Queen.

Leave a Reply

