Goodies In The Mail

Last Friday I hit the jackpot. I got two, count ’em, two fiber-related packages in the mail.

Friday’s mail brought me two fiber-related packages

The little white poly-bag is from Corgi Hill Farm in Vermont while the big box is from Knit Picks.

I opened the CHF package first. It contained the two braids of fiber I had ordered

Contents of the white poly-bag

and a surprise gift in a little white paper bag–3 pieces of candy (you cannot see the 3rd piece in the picture) and 10 g of beautifully hand-dyed Bluefaced Leicester roving.

Contents of the little white “thank-you” bag

You can appreciate the color of the BFL better from this picture that was taken in natural sunlight.

Lovely purple BFL from Corgi Hill Farm

Unfortunately, you cannot appreciate how freaking soft the BFL roving feels from looking at the picture. You have to actually touch it. And I don’t have “feel-ivision.” 🙂

The lovely braids of Corgi Hill Farm fiber are gorgeous and the pictures do not do them justice.

I took pictures in natural light, too. They don’t do the colors justice, either.

Corgi Hill Farm Polwarth/silk blend in Vintage Roses

Corgi Hill Farm Bluefaced Leicester in Cool Madras

I am saving this gorgeous fiber for the time when I’m more skilled at spinning and have at least some idea of how to spin hand-painted yarn without running the different colors together and turning them to mud. I envision each of these colorways becoming a fingering-weight 2-ply that will become either socks or a scarf, but my novice spindling skills are not there yet. They are not even close to being there yet. But they are on their way to being there.

On the other hand, the 10 grams of purple BFL will definitely be practice fiber. I’m looking forward to seeing how it spins compared to the mohair/Shetland blend I used for my very first handspun yarn, and it will be fun to see how gradient-dyed yarn will turn out.

Next up–I’ll open the box from Knit Picks.

2 thoughts on “Goodies In The Mail

Leave a Reply

