It’s Easy Being Green

I’ve been spinning. A lot. I am nearly finished spinning up the 100 grams of Knit Picks Wool of the Andes roving in Aurora Heather. I’ve been spinning it up on my little guy, and I have to say that I am a little disappointed with how this spindle performs when the cop gets large. The spindle slows down a lot. I ended up winding the yarn onto cardboard cores when the spindle came to a virtual standstill. I guess the yarn was just too heavy for the spindle. Anyway, here is my progress as of this very moment.

Singles spun from Knit Picks Wool of the Andes in Aurora Heather

I think I have gotten the hang of spindling now. These singles are much more uniform than my previous efforts, and I am able to spin with the spindle suspended instead of using park and draft. The spinning goes a lot faster that way. When I finish the rest of this fiber, I will ply the yarn. I should have enough 2-ply to knit a hat.

Spinning with a spindle isn’t difficult to do, but it does take persistence and a lot of practice to become proficient. I’m still a novice, and I am totally in awe of the spindlers who can produce singles that are so fine that they can be plied to become lace weight yarn. The best I can do is spin singles that are lace weight. But that’s a step in the right direction, and one day I hope to be skilled enough to produce lace weight 2-ply. All in due time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

