Jewels

The boy came for a visit last weekend and he brought along all but one of his hand-knit sweaters to be washed. I don’t know why the dark green one was missing. Perhaps it simply hasn’t surfaced since he recently moved house. I’ve learned not to ask about such things. 🙂

I decided to wash the sweaters on Friday evening so that they would have plenty of time to dry before he headed back home on Sunday. As always, before I popped the sweaters into the washing machine. Don’t gasp. My washing machine has a wool cycle. Really. Honest. Would I lie to you?

I checked the sweaters over for holes. The boy wears the sweaters from fall through winter and into spring, so they get hard use. Holes are not uncommon. I prefer to repair them while they are still small.

I found only one hole in one sweater, the Gansey knitted in Heilo, and it was just one stitch. Of course, I couldn’t remember where I had put the leftover yarn after the last time I repaired his sweaters, so I spent about 20 minutes going through the yarn closet. The yarn I needed wasn’t there. Oh, there was plenty of the kelly green Wool of the Andes in there, and I would have no difficulty in getting my hands on some of the dark blue Wool of the Andes either. But where, O where is the gold Heilo?

Then the light went on. I bet I put it in my yarn basket (which is really one of those milk-crate-like boxes that are sold at office supply stores for hanging files). So I look in the yarn basket and there it is, right on top, the bag holding both the red Tivoli superwash and the Heilo in goldenrod. Why hadn’t I looked there in the first place? Oh, well. I always enjoy looking through my yarn stash. 🙂

Anyway, I repaired the hole, popped the sweaters into the washer on the wool cycle, and set up my drying rack in the living room. When the washer finished, I hung the sweaters on the rack to dry, and turned on the portable fan that constitutes my high-tech sock and sweater drying system. I turned off the fan before I retired for the evening and planned to turn it back on when I got up the next morning.

But when I awoke on Saturday morning, I was delighted to see that Mother Nature had given me a perfect day for drying wool sweaters. It was bright, sunny, and breezy. So the drying rack went out on the front porch where the sweaters were shaded from the direct sun but exposed to the steady breeze.

After I came back into the house, I caught a glimpse of the sweaters on the rack and was struck by how beautiful they looked.

Sweaters drying on the rack as seen through the screen door

The colors all sparkled in the filtered sunlight like exotic jewels–topaz, ruby, sapphire, emerald.

Woolen jewels

There’s little in life that makes a knitter happier than seeing that the sweaters she hand-knitted for one of the people she loves most in this world are so well-worn and well-loved.

2 thoughts on “Jewels

Leave a Reply

