Not Just Another WIP Wednesday

I didn’t post anything last Wednesday because I was traveling, but I’m going to make up for it today. It’s not just any old WIP Wednesday because it’s my birthday, and the birthday present I received from my DH is part of my featured WIP.

It started this morning with a large box.

My birthday box

I wonder what could be in the box?

Read the label!

Holy smokes! A Schacht Ladybug spinning wheel!

 

Look in the box

I unpacked the box.

What’s in the box

The only assembly required is to attach the treadles.

Just attach the treadles

It’s so simple, even I was able to do it all by my lonesome, although my DH went down to the basement to fetch the tools I needed, a flat screwdriver, a Phillips head screwdriver, and a small wrench. I’m not very handy with tools, but I was able to attach the treadles with little difficulty.

In case you are wondering what is in the white box,

What’s in the other box

it’s the hardware for attaching the treadles, the orifice hook, the drive band for using the wheel in double drive (I’m using Scotch tension), the flyer, and the bobbins. The bobbin on the flyer already had some white yarn spun on it. I played with it for a few minutes, treadling and letting the yarn go onto the bobbin and pulling it off, trying to get the feel of the process. Within five minutes or so, I was making yarn. The red yarn is mine, spun from Knit-Picks Wool of the Andes roving.

I’m spinning!

And here is this week’s WIP.

WotA single, my first wheel-spun yarn

When I first started treadling my wheel, the treadles squeaked, but after treadling for a while, the squeak diminished, then disappeared. I’m amazed at how quiet the wheel is, and it’s very stable. I’ve watched a lot of YouTube videos of spinners spinning on wheels, and a lot of wheels wobble when the drive wheel is spinning, but the Ladybug doesn’t wobble at all.

Isn’t it pretty? I love the red drive wheel.

My Ladybug with fiber attached

And now to answer the big question.

Can you find the ladybug?

 

6 thoughts on “Not Just Another WIP Wednesday

  1. Happy Birthday (a little belated as well). I’m glad it was the great surprise and not found before your birthday. Enjoy it. Makes me want to get my yarn out as well. No wait… it is out.. I just have to pick it up!

Leave a Reply

