So Much To Learn

I’ve been practicing on my new Schacht Ladybug spinning wheel. The more I spin on it, the more I realize I have sooooo much to learn. When I spin on my spindles, I feel like I have total control over what I’m doing. I can make the fiber do what I want it to do. But when I spin on my wheel, I feel totally incompetent.

The first yarn I spun on the Ladybug is some Wool of the Andes fiber in a lovely heathered red. My singles were thin and rather unevenly twisted, but they weren’t bad for a rank beginner. I left the WotA singles on the bobbin for days and days while I spun up some lovely Corriedale from Sunset Fibers.

Sunset Fibers hand-dyed Corriedale singles

I was able to spin the Corriedale into much more consistently spun singles than the WotA, and I planned to chain-ply them on my wheel.

I’ve done chain plying on a spindle, with good results. But plying on a wheel is a different animal. I wanted to practice first because I want the Corriedale to become usable yarn, so I chain-plied the WotA singles on the wheel for practice. My first attempt was an unmitigated disaster, but my second try was better.

Over-plied WotA before it was washed

The yarn is way over-plied, but I am starting to get the hang of chain-plying on a spinning wheel. However, I need a lot more practice before I will be even close to getting a usable yarn, let alone mastering chain-plying on a wheel, so I decided to ply the Corriedale using a spindle. I wound one of the bobbins of the Corriedale into a plying ball and I’m chain-plying it on my Schacht Hi-Lo 2.2-ounce spindle. Chain plying is really easy to do on a spindle.

My chain plying is much better on a spindle.

I don’t know what I’m going to do with this yarn when it is finished. It will have to be washed before I will know how many wraps per inch it will be. But I’m hoping it will become either heavy fingering or sport weight so that I can make some socks with it.

Leave a Reply

