The Day After Christmas

The snow that fell on Christmas Eve was nearly all gone Christmas afternoon, but the day after Christmas has given us some more snow. But it took away the Internet for quite a few hours, so I’m late in posting my WIP Wednesday entry, and the picture I am about to show you has to be taken by lamplight, so the color isn’t even in the neighborhood.

The beginnings of a Reversible Rib sock

The beginnings of a Reversible Rib sock

Yes, it’s another sock. I’m using up some Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock that I had in my stash. LL is not exactly my favorite sock yarn, but this nearly solid lavender (The color is called Old Rose, but the yarn is lavender, one of the many reasons I dislike Lorna’s Laces.) is knitting up quite nicely in a deceptively simple reversible rib pattern. I cast on 76 stitches and knit 20 rounds of 2 x 2 rib. I am using 2.25 mm needles instead of my usual 2.5 mm needles because that is the only way I can get my usual gauge.

The reversible rib pattern is a 2-round pattern.

Round 1:* k2, p2  repeat from*

Round 2: k1, *k2, p2  repeat from * end with k1

This creates a very textured rib pattern that looks fabulous in a solid or nearly solid yarn, and it is simple, yet interesting to knit. I still haven’t decided whether I’m going to continue the reversible rib pattern on the heel flap, or maybe so a plain short-row heel. I’m leaning toward a patterned heel flap, but I might change my mind.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

