Sunshiny Day

Yes, another FO Friday is here, and in my world, the sun is shining, both literally and figuratively. Yes, the Sunshine Ribbed Socks are done.

Sunshine Ribbed Socks happily posing on the front porch

Sunshine Ribbed Socks happily posing on the front porch

Because the yarn that inspired these socks–Draygone Yarnes in Let The Sunshine In–is so freaking gorgeous, I went with a rather plain vanilla pattern. The leg and instep are done in a simple 4 x 2 ribbing (k4, p2) on 72 stitches using 2.5mm Chiao Goo 6-inch double-pointed needles. I worked a traditional heel-flap-and-gusset heel using EOP (eye of partridge) stitch for the heel with a 3-stitch garter edge on each side of the heel flap. The toe is a round toe. When a colorway is as beautiful as this one is, it is best to stick with a very simple pattern and let the yarn be the star of the sock. I prefer to use ribbing in some form on the leg and instep because it conforms to the shape of the leg and foot and makes for a better fitting sock.

This sock is my last one of 2012. My first sock of 2013 is already under way. In fact, I started it in 2012, but just barely, so I will be taking it up in earnest now that the Sunshine socks are done.

Aside from finished the Sunshine socks, I’ve been swatching for some sweaters. For many knitters, swatching is a dirty word, but I think it is essential when knitting an item that really needs to fit properly. I know the heartbreak of finishing a sweater, only to discover that it is either too small or too big for its intended recipient. I think that it is important to knit a generous swatch and then launder it the way the sweater will be laundered. That way, you will know how the yarn and any pattern stitches will behave in real life. This is especially important when knitting cables or when using a yarn you have never knitted with before or a fiber that changes dramatically when washed. I blogged about this back when I was knitting St. Enda for my son, so I won’t go on about it now. If you want to read my old blog post, click here. Anyway, you are bound to be hearing more about my sweater knitting in the not-too-distant future, so stay tuned. 😀

 

9 thoughts on “Sunshiny Day

  1. Q – There is a great app out called Yarn Pro which really helps with swatching. 😎 Love the yellow socks! We had such a gray December (not usual) that the yellow socks brighten the day.

  2. They are wonderful! I am not a big fan of yellow, but this is very nice. 😀
    Good luck with the swatching (and lots of fun with it)! I’ve only discovered the beauty of a good swatch a couple of months ago, when I finally looked up whether a particular yarn would be good for little things (or mittens, for that matter). Have a great weekend! 😀

Leave a Reply

