Reversible Ribs Socks

I’ve made some serious progress on Reversible Ribs #1. I finished the heel flap, turned the heel, picked up the gusset stitches, and finished the gusset decreases. I decided to try putting the decreases on the sole of the sock rather than along the instep. I’m very pleased with the results.

Sock #1 stretched on a sock blocker

Sock #1 stretched on a sock blocker

A close-up shot of the heel on the blocker

A close-up shot of the heel on the blocker

The V-shaped gusset close up

The V-shaped gusset close up

See how the sock curves to cup the heel?

See how the sock curves to cup the heel?

I’m thrilled with how nicely this heel fits, and it looks pretty, too.

I also want to try doing the gusset decreases on either side of the center heel stitch(es) and see whether the fit is as good. My only reservation about putting the decreases on the sole of the foot is my concern whether the two lines of decreases will be noticeable when I am standing on them. The decreases have pretty much double thickness because two stitches have been knitted together. Some people are so sensitive that they can feel the purl bumps on the bottoms of their feet and therefore knit the soles of their socks in reverse stocking stitch so the purl bumps are on the outside. I am not one of them, so I’m hopeful that I won’t notice the lines of decreases under my heel. I sure hope I don’t have a problem with it because I love how this heel fits and looks, and I want to be able to use it again and again.

12 thoughts on “Reversible Ribs Socks

  1. What a gorgeous gusset! Are you going to write a pattern? The bottoms of my feet aren’t as sensitive as that, so I’d imagine my feet would be fine with the decreases. Although I actually like wiggling my toes so I can feel the texture of my socks.

    • I, too, like to feel the texture. If you click on “Reversible Ribs” at the very beginning of the post, it will take you to my Ravelry project page. I have been jotting down how I am making this sock in the notes, so there is a pattern of sorts that should be good for anyone who has some experience at knitting socks. If the spirit moves me, I might write it up as an actual pattern, but don’t hold your breath. I have had another sock pattern written up for a couple of years now, and I still haven’t “published” it because it needs some tweaking. Yeah, I’m a world-class procrastinator. 😀

  2. These socks are SO beautiful … Truth be told, I head about the thing with the purl bumps before, but every time I am astonished how people can be able to FEEL that! On the other hand, I run around barefoot a lot, and although I still haven’t managed to meet Hobbit standarts, my feet are quite insensitive … :mrgreen:

    The idea about spreading the decreases out is very interesting! Sometimes I have the problem that my socks fit me fine – until the ankle, were they are a bit loose … So spreading everything out might meet individual foot shapes much better! 😀

    And again – I love the subtlety of these socks. 😀

  3. That’s a very pretty rib pattern. I’ve faved your Ravelry project page. Thanks for the great notes. I’m intrigued by your gusset decreases–something to try.

    • I definitely recommend giving this gusset placement a try. It’s really no different from doing the decreases just before/after the instep stitches; the decreases are just in a different place. I put a marker where the decreases went and didn’t even have to juggle stitches around.

  4. Q – I’m almost done with my first pair of socks! I see that you have sock blockers. I’m thinking of buying a pair. I’ve seen a couple of brands can you recommend one that you like the best?

    • I can’t wait to see pictures of your first pair of socks.

      I just have the one set of sock blockers which I bought from Knit Picks, IIRC, so I really cannot make a recommendation beyond saying that I like the ones I have. But I bought them for taking pictures of socks, not for blocking socks. I have only one pair of socks that I actually put on the blockers to dry. The rest I just hang on the drying rack. Generally speaking, socks don’t need to be blocked.

  5. Pingback: First Socks Of 2013 « All Kinds Of Knitting

Leave a Reply

