Catching Up

It’s official. I’m an old lady. There’s no doubt about it. And here’s the proof.

My new dining room curtains

My new dining room curtains

Yep, I put up ruffled sheer priscilla curtains in my dining room. Old lady curtains. 🙂

I know that it’s been a while since I’ve published a blog post. The DH and  I have been busy recently doing some super-serious spring cleaning which has been taking up a lot of my time. We are almost finished now; there are just a few odds and ends to finish up, but here is a recap of all the work we have done.

We moved a lot of the furniture out of two bedrooms and emptied the closets, one of which is a fairly large walk-in, and painted both bedrooms and both closets.

We also moved most of the furniture and other stuff out of the dining room, removed the wallpaper border from the walls, and painted.

We also moved the bookcases and some of the other furniture from the living room, and had Stanley Steemer clean the carpets in the bedrooms, dining room, and living room, as well as the stairs and hallway.

Almost everything is back in place now, but there are still a few odds and ends to take care of. A lot of work and a fair amount of inconvenience were involved, but, trust me, it was worth it. Our 30-year-old carpeting looks much better now, and nothing brightens up a room quite like fresh paint. We also did some decluttering, and I did some destashing, too. I think that clear plastic storage bins are the greatest invention ever. They are a boon to organizing and storing all the stuff one accumulates in a lifetime that one just cannot yet bear to part with.

Although all the painting, cleaning, and organizing has kept me busy recently, I have still found time for watching hockey and knitting. I’ll sum it all up with pictures.

James's top-down raglan sweater

James’s top-down raglan sweater

The back of Emily's Cassidy almost to the underarms

The back of Emily’s Cassidy almost to the underarms

Greg's second 3 x 2 ribbed sock is well under way.

Greg’s second 3 x 2 ribbed sock is well under way.

DSC02672_2

Trekking 2 x 2 ribbed socks

Please check out Tami’s WIP Wednesday.

8 thoughts on “Catching Up

  1. I am SO glad that everything is okay with you! I was starting to get worried ..

    The Cassidy looks absolutely stunning. Such a beautiful blue … It’s always good to spring clean, I threw about 10k of paper(!) away last month …

    Nice to have you back! Good luck with the rest! 😀

    • I think the Cassidy looks absolutely stunning, too. Bonne Marie is a wonderful designer and this pattern is very easy but looks very complicated. I like the blue, too. It’s intended recipient will look fabulous in it.

  2. You sure have been busy! Beautiful knitting! My closets are begging to have a spring cleaning . . . but I’m not listening. 🙂

    • Yeah, my energy level is pretty low. When I actually do work during the day, the evening gets spent in front of the TV with my knitting. Come to think of it, even when I don’t actually do any work during the day, I still spend the evening in front of the TV with my knitting. 🙂

  3. Welcome back … If i tried to clean up and organize and revitalize my home like you did my hiatus would be a lot longer 🙂

    A simple carpet cleaning can really bring a room back to life so I make sure to have my carpets cleaned every 3-4 years. There’s something about clean carpets that makes me feel comfy at home.

    • With the exception of the dining room, none of the carpets we had cleaned had ever been cleaned beyond routine (sporadic) vacuuming. The results from the professional cleaning far exceeded my expectations. Who knew 30-year-old carpet could look so good?

Leave a Reply

