Socks And Yarn

It’s another Finished Object Friday, and I have two things to report. To be honest, I’m amazed I have any finished items to report at all because I have a bazillion projects OTN. But I get to do the happy dance because I did manage to finish the 3 x 2 ribbed socks I knitted for the DH.

Simple but elegant 3 x 2 ribbed socks

Simple but elegant 3 x 2 ribbed socks

The yarn is Schaefer Anne, 60% superwash Merino, 25% Mohair, and 15% Nylon. The Merino makes the yarn soft, the Mohair gives it a subtle halo, and the Nylon makes it strong. In Ireland, there are posters all over the place promoting Guinness stout, and many of them sport the tagline, “Guinness makes you strong.” I think of Nylon as yarn Guinness. Add a little to your  yarn, and your socks will wear forever. The very first pair of socks I knitted in sock yarn–Socka in bright red–are now about 15 years old and still going strong. I have four or five other socks OTN at the moment, but that’s a story for another day. 🙂

Now it’s on to the other star of the day, handspun yarn. Remember this lovely BFL fiber from Sunset Fibers that I have been spinning?

 

Well, I spun 3 bobbins of singles and plied them together to make a gorgeous sport-weight 3-ply.

 

This fiber, which is a mix of white, gray, and black Blue Faced Leicester wool, spins up into a beautiful, heathery yarn.

 

And being BFL, it is as soft as can be. I have two more braids of hand-dyed mixed BFL, or swirl BFL as it is also called, up in my fiber stash that I purchased from two other dyers. After seeing how lovely the fiber from Sunset Fibers turned out, I’m eager to spin more mixed BFL. I’ll keep you posted. 🙂

Don’t forget to visit Tami’s FO Friday page to see some amazing Finished Objects.

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Socks And Yarn

    • Thank you. My pictures really don’t show the color at its best. My DH loves handknitted socks, but knitting them isn’t my favorite thing. They take extra yarn and extra time because I need at least another inch on the leg and another inch-and-a-half on the foot to fit him. But his joy at receiving another pair makes up for that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

