Blue And Green Make Pretty

I’m a sucker for blue and green together. I don’t know why I love this color combo so much, but it surely makes my heart sing.

So imagine what happened when one of my fellow Ravelers who is doing the fractal challenge posted pictures of two gorgeous braids of blue and green fiber (along with the yarn she made from one of the braids and the shawl she started knitting with it). Yep, I just had to have it.

Turtlepurl Merino top in Turtle View Gradient

Turtlepurl Merino top in Turtle View Gradient

Turtlepurl BFL in Boys Have Cooties. Gotta love that name!

Turtlepurl BFL in Boys Have Cooties. Gotta love that name!

Both braids side by side. They really are different colors as well as different fibers. :-)

Both braids side by side. They really are different colors as well as different fibers. 🙂

The fiber is from Turtlepurl Yarns in Hillsborough, New Brunswick, Canada. The prices and postage were so reasonable that I just had to order more than two braids.

There's more to life than blue and green.

There’s more to life than blue and green.

The color way of this lovely Merino top is called Strawberry Cupcakes.

The color way of this lovely Merino top is called Strawberry Cupcakes.

And this brilliant color way of alpaca/BFL/icicle blend pencil roving is appropriately named Firestarter.

And this brilliant color way of alpaca/BFL/icicle blend pencil roving is appropriately named Firestarter.

I really cannot get over how many wonderfully talented indie dyers there are. So far I have kept my spinning stash on a leash, but I can see it easily entering S.A.B.L.E. territory. (Stash Acquisition Beyond Life Expectancy) Must. Use. Restraint. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Blue And Green Make Pretty

  1. Awesome colors! If you reach SABLE, I would be happy to help…. 🙂 I am looking forward to seeing the blue/green braids spun, they are gorgeous!

    • I’m already itching to start spinning both of the blue and green braids even though I have a spinning project on one wheel and a plying project on another. After all, that means I have one wheel sitting empty. I don’t want it to feel neglected. But I might wait a while because the TdF is coming up in July. 🙂

  2. Restraint? Why?

    I also love blue, and blue and green together a close second. Those are gorgeous! I can’t wait to see how they look spun (I’m a knitter but not a spinner, I’m not good at visualizing these things ahead of time). If you don’t like the finished yarn, I’d be glad to give it a home, just saying.

Leave a Reply

