Tour de Fleece 2014 Day 2

I should have posted this yesterday, but I didn’t, so sue me. 🙂

Day 2 wasn’t much different from day one. I took this 12-gram piece of dyed tussah silk sliver

I remembered to weigh the dyed sliver before I started spinning it.

and spun it into this singles.

The colors are very subtle.

I plan to ply it with the singles I spun yesterday on Day 3, which is today. 🙂

I also spun more of the Greenwood Fiberworks merino.

The bobbin is getting fuller, but it will hold a lot more.

It’s lovely fiber, but I’m still having difficulty drafting it as evenly as I would like. When I ply it back on itself, though, it looks pretty good. I have a lot of this fiber left to spin, so I will keep plugging away on it. “Plugging away” probably isn’t the correct term to use. I am very much enjoying spinning this fiber, and I’m happy I still have lots left to spin. But I am having a senior moment and just can’t think of the idiom I want. As my dad would have said, Golden years, my ass. More like the rusty tin years. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

