I Haz Handspun

I am still behind in blogging about my spinning and knitting, but I am trying to get caught up. I’m a creature of habit, but when my regular routine gets interrupted, like, say, by moving across the state right before Christmas, it takes me forever to get back into my regular routine. I don’t even want to think about how far behind I got in my blog reading. I’ve caught up on about half of the blogs I read regularly, but I still have half-a-dozen in my backlog. ::sigh::

Anyway, here’s one of my completed spinning projects, Bee Mice Elf Spring 2015, in pictures.

I started with two 4-oz braids of luscious fiber in gorgeous colors.

I spun one braid end to end on my Ashford Traveller in double drive using the sliding hook flyer (right). The other braid I split in half lengthwise, then spun each length end to end onto another bobbin (left).

I plied the two singles together to create a “fractal” 2-ply. I did the plying on the Travvy using Irish tension (bobbin lead).

The 2-ply yarn straight of the niddy noddy.

The finished skein. See how much the yarn relaxed when I set the twist (that is, washed the yarn)?

I love the barber-poling. I wonder what it will look like knitted up?

6 thoughts on “I Haz Handspun

  1. I want to cuddle that fibre!!! It looks so soft … And “bee mice” is such a cute name! Like a very friendly critter out of a children’s tale … “The Bee Mice under the Apple Tree”.

    The yarn has turned out beautifully. A friend of mine was generous enough to lend me a wheel, but I have hesitated to ply so far (I wanted to try an Andean Ply) … I don’t know why, but somehow, it scares me.

    • Yes, the fiber and resulting yarn are very soft and cuddly. I think the name is a play on “be myself.” There was a song back in 1969 by Sly and the Family Stone with the title “Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin).” That’s the year I graduated from high school and started at university, and I had the 45 rpm single.

      Don’t be afraid to try plying. You can practice first with some scrap yarn.

    • No, I just find that when I am chain-plying, the strong take-up gives me something to pull against and keep the singles from kinking up. And that helps me get a good rhythm, and that helps make my plying more even and consistent.

Leave a Reply

