More Handspun

I’m not much of a joiner, unless it’s a fiber club. I signed up for the into the whirled fiber club, and, of course, I went whole hog and doubled it. That means that every month, I get 8 ounces of gorgeous handdyed spinning fiber delivered right to my door. Correction. Every month I get 24 ounces of gorgeous handdyed spinning fiber delivered right to my door, but only 8 ounces is from into the whirled. The rest comes from two other fiber clubs.

Hello, I’m Pinko Knitter, and I am a fiberholic.

Let’s start with some lovely English Shetland wool.

Then take one of the bumps and split it in half lengthwise.

Next, we’ll spin each length end to end onto a separate bobbin, using our beautiful Schacht Ladybug spinning wheel in double drive. (I love using the royal “we.” It makes me feel so aristocratic.)

Each bobbin of singles is then chain plied in Scotch tension (flyer lead) to make a beautiful, self-striping 3-ply yarn.

DSC05358_2

When the yarn came off the niddy noddy, it looked to be way overplied. Yikes!

DSC05359_2

But not to worry. A nice long soak in hot water and a little Eucalan will help the yarn relax.

DSC05361_2

See? This is what that overplied skein looked like when it came out of its bath.

DSC05367

And here’s what that same skein looks like after it dried.

DSC05369

And here are the finished skeins. They are destined to become fingerless mitts.

12 thoughts on “More Handspun

    • I urge every knitter to go down that rabbit hole. LOL I had a long-standing interest in spinning, but didn’t act on it until 3 years ago. I was afraid it would become an obsession–and it did–but I’m really happy I finally gave it a try. I started with a drop spindle, which is a very economical way to begin, but won’t necessarily be indicative of whether or not wheel spinning would be for you. Some spinners just never get comfortable with spinning on a spindle, and some spindle spinners don’t like spinning on a wheel. I like them both, but it has been a very long time since I used my spindles. Too long, in fact.

  1. Your finished yarn looks so bouncy and airy, do you full your yarn after washing or is this down to how you spun it?

    • I spin mostly worsted (short forward draw) and most of the fiber I spin is combed top, although the Loop bumps are carded roving. I set the twist by soaking the yarn in hot water (however hot the tap water is) with a little Eucalan or Soak or Kookaburra, and let it soak for at least half-an-hour. Then I squeeze out as much water as I can, wrap the skein in a towel and walk on it to squeeze out more water, give the skeins a few snaps, then hang them to dry. I rarely full the yarn–that’s mostly done with a woolen spin–but sometimes I will thwack the yarn if it has too much plying twist when it comes out of the soak. I find that thwacking over-plied yarn will often help it relax and become more balanced. But if thwacking doesn’t work, I will run it back through the wheel spinning in the opposite direction from the plying to remove some of the twist. I’ve only done this a couple of times. I like my yarns to be on the energetic side. I’m not real into the really technical aspects of spinning. I just make yarn that I like. 🙂

  2. I love this so much! I have looked for a couple of fibre clubs here (or sock yarn clubs, for that matter), but it’s way too expensive for me. Maybe in a couple of years, it will be possible, though! 🙂

    The yarn looks great, it reminds me of the sea … and of the beach … And a bit of seaglass, too. Beautiful work!

    • Thank you. I’m very happy with how it turned out. I agree, it is a bit reminiscent of the sea. I used to be in a couple of sock yarn clubs, which is how I ended up with such a big stash of sock yarn.

      • Ahh, sockyarn is versatile … You’ll knit it up in no time. 🙂 Has the Icehockey season started again? you’re knit a lot of socks watching the games, don’t you?

      • Yes, sock yarn is quite versatile, and I do knit a lot of socks while watching hockey and (American) football. But football doesn’t start until the end of August, and hockey doesn’t start until October. I currently have two different socks OTN and I pretty much always have at least one sock OTN. And I have plans to knit a lot of fingerless mitts. They make great Christmas presents. 🙂

Leave a Reply

