Spinzilla In Detail

Here’s the long version of my first two days of Spinzilla 2015. I hope to spin and ply at least a mile of yarn, and I’m off to a pretty good start.

My first project, which is lacking only the final finishing of the yarn, yielded 196 yards of 2-ply yarn, which is the equivalent of 588 yards of spinning and plying. (The singles would be twice the length of the plied yarn, so 196 + 2(196) = 588.) I started with a braid of Polypay roving from Yarn Hollow in a colorway called Third eye.

Polypay is a fiber I had never spun before. It’s a toothy wool that’s very springy, and I rather like it.

This fiber is a carded prep, so I spun it in a semi-woolen manner. I wanted to do long draw, but I couldn’t get the fiber to cooperate, probably because I don’t have a lot of experience doing long draw. I ended up doing a semi-long draw, which is kind of like short draw, only I let twist get into the drafting zone.

I was hoping for a fuzzy, thick and thin singles that would ply into a similarly fuzzy, thick and thin 2-ply, and that’s what I ended up with. I love it when that happens.

I wanted to get more of a woolen yarn instead of my usual worsted, and I was hoping for a thick and thin. I think I succeeded.

I love how the colors barber-poled in some parts and blended in other.

And these three braids of fiber are in various stages of spinning and plying.

The Savoy Truffle is very lovely. The colors are soft, and there are some white spots throughout the braid that soften the colors even more and give a slightly heathered look to the singles. I decided to do this as a fractal 2-ply. The spinning is done and the singles have rested and are now ready to be plied.

The bobbin on the right is the the half of the fiber I spun end to end. The one on the left is the one that was spun after splitting the second half of the yarn multiple times.

Squittles is a gorgeous colorway with bright, vibrant colors that seem to glow with their one light. The shimmer is due to the 15% tussah silk. Silk always adds a lovely sheen to any wool. I love the colors so much that I decided I had to spin this yarn end to end and chain ply it to preserve the colors.

I love the sheen in this fiber. If you look in the upper right of the picture, you can see the Polypay Third Eye singles on the bobbins before they were plied.

It will make a beautiful self-striping yarn.

The colors remain vibrant and the yarn retains its sheen even after chain plying.

Devil’s Daughter also have really vibrant colors that I wanted to preserve. So I split the braid in half vertically and plan to chain ply it make two 2-oz skeins of self-striping yarn for fingerless mitts. I have one half already spun.

Aren’t those colors totally kick-ass?

Now it’s time for me to get back to spinning.

 

5 thoughts on “Spinzilla In Detail

Leave a Reply

