More Weaving!

Yes, there has been more weaving.

First things first, I fixed the floats in my Looking Glass Scarf. The repairs are virtually invisible, so it’s like it never happened. šŸ˜Ā I still haven’t received the fringe twister I ordered, so the scarf isn’t technically finished, but I still marked it as a FO on the Ravelry project page.

After the Looking Glass Scarf debacle, I knew I needed to get right back up on the horse, so I warped my Cricket loom with some left-over vintage (1990s) sock yarn. (Click here if you want to look at my Ravelry project page.) Ninety ends on a 10-dent heddle:

As usual, I forgot to take pictures during the winding of the warp and dressing of the loom. Heck, this picture was take when I had only a tiny bit of weft yarn left to weave. I messed up when warping the yarn and ended up with the scarf being a bit off center on the loom, but at least I didn’t have any major tensioning issues. Please don’t look closely at the fell line. It’s a little wonky. ::sigh::

Unfortunately, I seriously overestimated the amount of sock yarn I had, and I made the warp too long. I was able to get a wearable scarf, so it wasn’t a fatal problem, but there was unnecessary waste, and I hate wasting yarn, even if it’s really old leftover sock yarn.

My selvedges leave a bit to be desired, but they aren’t horrible. I might attempt to fix some of the looser ones before I wet-finish the scarf.

I wasn’t kidding when I said I had a lot of wasted yarn.

The scarf still needs to have some ends woven in and the header removed. And I haven’t decided yet what I am going to do with the fringe. I’m leaning toward either twisted or braided, but i might just end up knotting it.

In this close-up shot, you can see all the variation in the blue-green sock yarn. I think it paired up really well with the solid color.

It took me several days to finish this scarf because life happened. But it was a quick and easy project. I’m hoping that wet-finishing will improve the look of the fabric. As you can see in the picture, my beating is still pretty uneven.

Here’s a teaserā€“ā€“I have yet another project off the loom, one that took just one evening start to finish (except for washing it). So keep your eyes peeled.

Leave a comment