Football Means Knitting!

College football has completed week two, and the NFL season is now underway. And that means I have been knitting my ass off. Okay, it really means that I have spent a lot of time sitting on my ass knitting and watching football. 🙂

I’m way proud of my progress. The Spider Queen is nearing completion. The last border is nearly done, and the edging is coming up.

The Spider Queen still in the yarn vomit stage, but nearing completion

The regal arachnid should be finished before October arrives.

The Show-Off Stranded Socks are coming along. Sock # 1 is finished and sock #2 is underway.

And, the pièce de résistance, the Mystery Cable Socks are done.

What’s that you say, dear reader? You’ve never heard of these socks of mystery cables? That’s hardly surprising. These socks are kit from the sock-of-the-month club at theknitter.com, a kit that I got in December of 2004, nearly 8 years ago. I have big feet, and I ran out of yarn. Since the yarn was Cascade 220 Superwash, I wasn’t concerned. Even though I hadn’t gotten around to starting these socks until quite a while after I had received the kit, Cascade 220 is a very popular yarn that is readily available, so I could order more, right? Wrong! When I tried to order more, I discovered that this particular color of Cascade 220 was no longer available. Anywhere. And this was before Raverly, so I couldn’t search stashes or do an ISO (In Search Of). So I did what any self-respecting knitter would do. I stuffed the project bag into the back of my yarn closet and forgot about it.

Fast forward a few years, actually more than a few years. I’m cleaning out my yarn closet and find these unfinished socks. Just for the hell of it, I checked on the intertubes to see if maybe by chance this color of Cascade 220 Superwash was available again. Guess what? It was! So I ordered a ball figuring that the dye lot wouldn’t even be close. But it’s a pair of socks. It’s no big deal to rip back part of the foot and reknit it, alternating the old yarn and the new. But when the yarn arrived, I was very pleasantly surprised to see that the new yarn matched the old exactly. EXACTLY!

Sometimes the knitting goddesses are on my side. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Football Means Knitting!

Leave a Reply

