Ireland Rugby Hat

Inspiration is a funny thing. You just never know where and when it will strike. A couple of weeks ago, I was digging through my yarn stash and stumbled across a bag of odds and ends left over from various project.  In the bag was a ball of kelly green yarn left from a gansey I had knitted for the boy a couple of years ago.

I kept the leftovers out because I thought I could use them as hat-knitting fodder. A few days later I happened to glance at a photograph that sits on our mantle. It is a picture of me, the DH, and the boy taken at a Dayton pub on St. Patrick’s Day in 2009 following Cousin Vickie’s lovely Irish wedding. In the picture the boy is wearing an Ireland Rugby jersey we had given him as a Winter Solstice gift.

Picture a light bulb above my head switching on and glowing bright. Yes! thought I. That would make a great hat! And I had just the perfect colors.

So, I sat down and planned the colors and striping. Then I got out the graph paper, found a shamrock chart in Sheila McGregor’s book Traditional Fair Isle Knitting, and adapted the pattern to my hat.

Add a little knitting and, voilà!

I wrote up the pattern and through the magic that is WordPress, you can download the pattern by clicking here➔Ireland Rugby Hat

10 thoughts on “Ireland Rugby Hat

  1. Your blog looks great! (And so does the hat – I love most things Irish so I’ll be saving this pattern)

  2. Pingback: Free St. Patrick's Day Knitting Patterns | In the Loop Knitting

  3. Pingback: St. Patrick's Day Inspired Knitting Round Up - The Knit Wit by Shair

Leave a Reply

